99% Food 1% Skin

Shanghainese Food

In Asia, Eating Out, Food, Travel Food on November 16, 2013 at 15:36

Doof Out

My dear friends (thanks JA, EC, KL, NC, CW, JS, FC, WF and VC!) treated me to an excellent Shanghainese meal at Ning Po 寧波旅港同鄉會.

Being  1/4 Shanghainese, its unique foods were dear to my heart.

Many of the dishes were prepared by my grandmother when I was growing up.

In Seattle, there was no authentic Shanghainese food.

Generally, the cuisine was lumped together with Beijing and Szechuan styles.

First and foremost, my friend already informed me that I would be able to have stinky tofu there.

Stinky tofu was fermented tofu and got its name because it was really stinky.

IMG_7743

I was in heaven!

Awesome stinkiness and awesome crispiness paired with the sweetness of hoisin sauce, it was one great unique dish!

IMG_7742

My other favorite — crispy eel.

It was in a Chinese sweet and sour sauce.

The eel was fried crispy, and the tangy sauce made the eel a little chewy.

The combination made this dish extremely irresistible.

IMG_7744

Runny egg yolk stewed eggs, and a cold pork appetizer.

I don’t have the English name to the pork dish.

It was made with compacted shredded pork, always served cold, and cut into long blocks; served with black vinegar and ginger.

It almost tasted like a cold ham block; meat was always tender and very flavorful.

IMG_7745

Pea vines with generous amount of crab meat and stir fried eel with bean sprouts.

Since I was a kid, I had always enjoyed the eel with steamed “silver strand roll”.

IMG_7746

This place’s roll was awesome.  The strands were clearly separated with a sweet bun flavor.

From my childhood memory though, the strands were even narrower and finer; however, compared to the ones in the States which came in chunks, this was a far superior product.

IMG_7748

With quite a few more dishes (stir-fried rice cake, wonton soup, pan-fried pork buns), we managed to stuff ourselves, and yet still ordered desserts (as my Dad said, dessert was for another stomach).

The dessert was similar to a deep-fried crepe, usually served with red bean paste in the States.

Here, they made the other option that I grew up with – date paste.

I love the date paste so much more because it was usually lower in sweetness than the red bean version, and the subtle yet complex date flavor was just excellent.

How I wish we had proper Shanghainese food in Seattle!!!

Leave a Reply

